Coffee, hormones and physical distress

http://www.precisionnutrition.com/coffee-and-hormones

superman drinking give up nope

Back to liquor then.

On some level, everyone knows coffee is bad for the body. That’s why they self-medicate later with alcohol to relax and sleep.

Perhaps this relates to mental illness in a modern population, perhaps not.

Caffeine has also been shown to increase serotonin levels in the limbic system, a relatively primitive part of our brain involved in regulating basic functions such as hormonal secretions, emotional responses, mood regulation and pain/pleasure sensations. This has a similar mode of action as some antidepressant medications.

That includes the amygdala, folks. A sense of appeasement and belonging.

Ever notice chronic coffee fiends are generally very sad, lonely people?

which can lead to sub-clinical mood problems such as mild depression (aka “the blues”), low motivation, irritability, and impaired cognition.

Starbucks Zombies.

It doesn’t even give them more energy after the first week or two, they just need it to feel normal, like any addict.

I’m not saying this is urban liberals and SJWs especially…. but they tend to have spare tires that lead to this.

You don’t see many skinny SJWs who don’t abuse some substances (sugar, caffeine, alcohol).

5 responses to “Coffee, hormones and physical distress

  1. I dunno; caffeine has always and continues to boost my level of awakeness and alertness, whenever I have it.

    Whereas nicotine did stop giving the bursts of energy it initially did, and indeed, I did find I needed it just to feel normal, eventually. I hardly miss it, a year plus since I quit.

    Can’t imagine quitting caffeine, though. I once tried, for two weeks; suffered migraines and mood swings. No, I’d rather not go through withdrawal symptoms again. I’m fine with that addiction. 🙂

1. Be civil. 2. Be logical or fair. 3. Do not bore me.

