Link: Sharing economy? No. Locust economy

http://www.ribbonfarm.com/2013/04/03/the-locust-economy/

TLDR: Working class people can’t afford RRP, the canary in the economy coalmine.

Thinking about locusts and the behavior of customers around services like Groupon, I’ve become convinced that the phrase “sharing economy” is mostly a case of putting lipstick on a pig. What we have here is a locust economy. Let me explain what that means.

I, Locust

Why locusts? Because I just learned a fascinating fact about them: they are not a separate species.

Locusts are the swarming phase of certain polymorphic grasshoppers…

When I first learned about this bit of science trivia last week, my immediate reaction was “wow, locusts are basically zombie grasshoppers!”…..

Gives new meaning to the ant and the grasshopper, K-type and r-type fable, doesn’t it?

One response to “Link: Sharing economy? No. Locust economy

1. Be civil. 2. Be logical or fair. 3. Do not bore me.

